School Governance

Overview

The Willow School, a Type-3 Charter in the New Orleans Public Schools (NOLA PS) district, is governed by the Advocates for Arts-Based Education (AABE) Board. The AABE Board of Directors has an important role in advancing the school’s mission by setting policies, supervising the activities of the Corporation, and adopting positions on issues of substance related to the purposes of the Corporation.

The authorized number of Directors, to be set by the Board of Directors, shall be no less than seven (7), and no greater than eleven (11). The Corporation may, at the discretion of the Board of Directors, also have one or more advisory Directors who shall have no voting power or authority but shall serve in an advisory capacity only. At least 60% of the members shall reside in Orleans Parish, including at least one parent or legal guardian of one or more students currently enrolled at The Willow School.

Qualified individuals may be nominated for consideration as a director-candidate by existing members of the Board of Directors. Once a candidate is established by a committee designated by the Board President, the individual may be elected to become a member of the Willow School Board by 60% of the Board members present and voting. To be seated as a Board Member, the individual must also meet the qualifications set forth by the Orleans Parish School Board.

The term of a Director shall be two (2) years. A Director may serve four (4) consecutive two (2) year terms.

Board of Directors

Gary Solomon, President - gary_solomon@willowschoolnola.org

Jennifer McGowan - Vice President - jennifer_mcgowan@willowschoolnola.org

Rachel Wisdom, Treasurer - rachel_wisdom@willowschoolnola.org

Kiki Huston, Secretary - kiki_huston@willowschoolnola.org

Alysia Loshbaugh - alysia_loshbaugh@willowschoolnola.org

Chris Reade - chris_reade@willowschoolnola.org

George Wilson - george_wilson@willowschoolnola.org

Michelle Beaty - michelle_beaty@willowschoolnola.org

Richard Cortizas - richard_cortizas@willowschoolnola.org

To contact Board Members by phone message, please call Ann Welsh at 504.304.3960, extension 214

Monthly meetings will rotate among the three Willow School Campuses. Dates/times are subject to change. The most up-to-date information will be available below.

Board Meeting Dates 2022-2023

September 6, 2022, 5 pm

Elijah Brimmer, Jr. Campus, 5624 Freret Street

October 6, 2022, 5 pm

Ellis Marsalis, Jr. Campus, 5625 Loyola Avenue

November 3, 2022, 5 pm

Everett Williams, Jr. Campus, 7315 Willow Street

December 1, 2022, 4 pm

Elijah Brimmer, Jr. Campus, 5624 Freret Street

January 5, 2023, 5 pm

February 2, 2023, 5 pm

March 2, 2023, 5 pm

April 6, 2023, 5 pm

May 4, 2023, 5 pm

June 1, 2023, 5 pm   

Committee Meeting Dates 2022-23

CEO Search Committee

November 28, 2022, 5:30 pm

Elijah Brimmer, Jr. Campus, 5624 Freret Street

Agenda

Public Records Requests:

To reach The Willow School's Custodian of Records, Interim CEO Nicolette London, please send an email to records@willowschoolnola.org.

Louisiana Report Fraud:

Contact the Louisiana Legislative Auditor (LLA) Hotline if you suspect the misappropriation (theft), fraud, waste, or abuse of public funds by anyone.

Information provided to the LLA Hotline may result in an investigation, audit, or other review.

When providing information to the LLA Hotline, please include sufficient detail (describing who, what, where, when, why, and how) to allow us to fully evaluate your information. Although we will consider anonymous information, providing us with your name and telephone number will allow us to contact you with any additional questions that we have.

Your name and telephone number, as well as the status of complaints, are confidential.

LLA